Top Ten Tuesday + Waiting on Wednesday Featuring Vampire Academy/Bloodlines

6b2fb-toptentuesday

Eek! I didn’t realize that the Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign Top Ten Tuesday was already upon us! So I am cheating and simply combining it with Waiting on Wednesday so I can post it now.. 🙂 Plus, it gives me an excuse to talk about one of my favorite series – Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy and Bloodlines books.

Some of the covers are not bad, but they could just be SO much better! I guess the girl on the cover of book one is supposed to be Rose, and she has a kind of Rose-like expression, but it’s just a boring cover. Couple that with the highly unfortunate name of the series and I imagine many people who would otherwise enjoy the books are turned off. Apparently when one of the people working on the upcoming movie (yay!) was offered the project, he wondered how his career could have taken such a nosedive as to make him have to work on something called “Vampire Academy”. Then he read the book and loved it. I’m not surprised they tweaked the title for the movie. I think if they’d gone with “Shadow Kissed” as the name for the series it would’ve been so much more reflective of the series. Alas. 

 Anyway. The cover of Frostbite is worse. Who is that supposed to be? Lissa and Christian? Maybe? But why? It’s so unrelated to the plot. They could have played up the snow, the royal families, etc. They could do more with the iron gates and such, because THAT effect is excellent. Emma Vieceli did an amazing job with the cover of the graphic novel, so clearly the inspiration was there to be mined. I rolled my eyes when I read the title though. Frostbite? So cliche. But if  Vampire Academy book one had a better title, I probably wouldn’t have minded, because Frostibite kind of fits. It’s probably the most fun, lighthearted book of the series (at least until the end). So the tongue-in-cheek title kind of fits.

The cover for Shadow Kiss actually isn’t bad. It captures the right mood, and actually resembles Rose. Blood Promise is okay, with the exposure of the neck and all, but the model doesn’t make me think of Rose at all. Spirit Bound is worse. Who are these people supposed to be? I actually like Last Sacrifice. The model looks and feels like Rose. But I still think they could have done so much more with the covers. 

For contrast, check out the ridiculous awesomeness that is the covers of the graphic novels. I seriously need a poster of the Frostbite cover on my wall. And the recently revealed cover for Shadow Kiss makes me want to cry it has so much emotion in it. Also, it comes out on my birthday! (hint, hint ;))

Then we have the Bloodlines series, where the covers are a huge step up. I love the first Bloodlines book cover so much I propped it up on my nightstand so I could look at it all the time. Sydney looks so put together but vulnerable, and she and Adrian both look exactly the way I imagine them. I also like how Adrian is on the very edge of the cover, yet still kind of dominates. The iridescent tattoo looks awesome too. And I love how all the covers feature different flowers. Having roses on the first cover is perfect of course, since the first Bloodlines books deals so heavily with the fallout from everything Rose did. The lilies on The Golden Lily are great of course, but I don’t get why there are two girls on the cover. Is one supposed to be Jill? Or maybe two different sides of Sydney? It’s not my favorite.

The Indigo Spell is great (the color themes are awesome too), and I thought it was so cool when I figured out what the morning glories were all about (plus I just like morning glories).

The Fiery Heart cover I’m not so sure about – we finally get Adrian actually ON the cover, which fits since the books is in his POV too. Sydney looks kind of disheveled, and Adrian haunted, and the orange around them seems kind of discordant.  I have a feeling that’s all going  to mesh with the crazy-emotional roller-coaster Richelle Mead has said the book will be.

 

 

 

 

Which is why I am impatiently waiting on it! And the Shadow Kiss graphic novel. 🙂

I hope you’ve enjoyed my little feature. I’m going to start posting reviews for this series soon too, so stay tuned.

 

 

 

 

The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead

In The Indigo Spell, Sydney was torn between the Alchemist way of life and what her heart and gut were telling her to do. And in one breathtaking moment that Richelle Mead fans will never forget, she made a decision that shocked even her. . . .
But the struggle isn’t over for Sydney. As she navigates the aftermath of her life-changing decision, she still finds herself pulled in too many directions at once. Her sister Zoe has arrived, and while Sydney longs to grow closer to her, there’s still so much she must keep secret. Working with Marcus has changed the way she views the Alchemists, and Sydney must tread a careful path as she harnesses her profound magical ability to undermine the way of life she was raised to defend. Consumed by passion and vengeance, Sydney struggles to keep her secret life under wraps as the threat of exposure—and re-education—looms larger than ever.

Pulses will race throughout this thrilling fourth installment in the New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series, where no secret is safe.

Shadow Kiss Graphic Novel

adapted by Leigh Dragoon

Illustrated by Emma Vieceli

What if following her heart means Rose could lose her best friend forever?

Rose Hathaway knows it is forbidden to love another guardian. Her best friend,

Lissa – the last Dragomir princess – must always come first. Unfortunately, when it comes to gorgeous Dimitri Belikov, some rules are meant to be broken…

But since making her first Strigoi kills, Rose hasn’t been feeling right. Something dark has begun to grow in her mind, and ghostly shadows warn of a terrible evil drawing nearer to the Academy’s iron gates. And now that Lissa and Rose’s sworn enemy, Victor Dashkov, is on trial for his freedom, tensions in the Moroi world are higher than ever.

Lying to Lissa about Dimitri is one thing, but suddenly there’s way more than friendship at stake. The immortal undead are on the prowl, and they want vengeance for the lives that Rose has stolen. In a heart-stopping battle to rival her worst nightmares, Rose will have to choose between life, love, and the two people who matter most… but will her choice mean that only one can survive?

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish.

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Thanks for reading!

heart ribbon divider

About Rain Jeys

Young Adult Fantasy Author. Book Reviewer. Lover of kitties. View all posts by Rain Jeys

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday + Waiting on Wednesday Featuring Vampire Academy/Bloodlines

Tell me what you think!

