Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read In 2013 (It’s my birthday!)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Today is my 27th birthday! 27 is my favorite number, so I’m excited. 🙂 And I’m celebrating by posting my top ten reads of 2013 (also with fireworks and friends later). I refrained from just listing 90% Rick Riordan books. 😉 For this edition, I will count down from ten. Picture link to Goodreads. Here we go!

10) The First Five Pages by Noah Lukeman

I found this book incredibly helpful for editing my manuscript. I highly recommend it. Especially if, like me, you can identify problem areas in your writing but aren’t exactly sure how to best go about remedying them. 

9) Nobody by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

This book had such an intriguing setup. I loved the allusions to other literature and the character development between the two main characters.

8) Beta by Rachel Cohn

Such a fascinating book! The directions the story took were really brave and thought-provoking and I’m thrilled that the sequel finally has a release date, even if it’s not until September!

7) Mermother by Elizabeth Jane Wolfe

A really interesting new take on mermaid mythology that doesn’t shy away from the difficult questions of biology that mermaids present. I’m greatly looking forward to the sequel. 

6) If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan

It may be premature of me to list this one, since I haven’t quite finished it yet, but I only have 40 pages left and so far it’s just amazing. The story is gripping and definitely informative about Iranian culture, but in a way that blends seamlessly with the narrative. Stunning.

5) Queen of Kings by Maria Dahvana Headley

This book completely exceeded my expectations. Lush and descriptive and thrilling and full of myth and history and character. Even though it’s adult fiction, which I generally avoid, I absolutely loved it.

4) Ashes on the Waves By Mary Lindsay

Okay, so I knew I would love this the minute I heard it existed. That didn’t make it any less amazing. If anything, it actually managed to exceed my exponentially high expectations. Poe forever.

3) The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

All of the demigods finally met! Epic character interaction ensued! God I love these characters. 

2) The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

This series just keeps better and better. I loved seeing Sydney working with her magic more in this one and of course Adrian was charming as usual. I STILL need to read The Fiery Heart so I can anxiously await Silver Shadows. 🙂

1) The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

We have a winner! Even though the demigods were separated, there still managed to be even more character development and interaction in this one. I loved every line, I really did. I can’t wait for The Blood of Olympus to come out in October!

red rose divider

What do you think? Good choices? Did you read any of these this year? Leave me a comment!

Happy New Year!

About Rain Jeys

Young Adult Fantasy Author. Book Reviewer. Lover of kitties. View all posts by Rain Jeys

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read In 2013 (It’s my birthday!)

Tell me what you think!

