Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Resolutions For 2014

6b2fb-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

1)My first resolution is to finalize the edits on my novel manuscript and begin sending out queries. 🙂

Next I shall list my Reading Challenges for the year. They are resolutions 2-10, and encompass my general resolutions to read and blog more. There are lots and lots of crossovers and I will also update the books listed as I obtain more. 🙂

Real Book Challenge on Swoony Boys Podcast and Fiction Fare

First up, the 2014 Real Book Challenge. I am definitely a print snob and so ALL of my books are real books, and everything I read will count for this challenge! Yay! 😀

I am aiming for the level of Real Book Queen at 50+ books!

1) The Sea Inside by Vickie Johnstone

2) Steampunk Poe

3) White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

4) Divergent by Veronica Roth

5) The Fracking War by Michael J. Fitzgerald

9ad

Next up, the 2014 TBR Pile Challenge hosted by Evie-Bookish.  The idea is to read books that have been sitting on your shelf unread for some time. I am signing up at the Sweet Summer Fling level, which is 31-40 books.

1) The Sea Inside by Vickie Johnstone

2) Divergent by Veronica Roth

9ad

Next we have the 2014 Rewind Challenge hosted by Coffee Bean Bookshelf. I really like this one because the idea is to read books that were not released in 2014, and I have lots of those! 🙂 My goal is to read 20+ books for this challenge.

1.) The Sea Inside by Vickie Johnstone

2) Steampunk Poe

3) Divergent by Veronica Roth

9ad

Next is the Dystopia Challenge 2014 hosted by Blog of Erised. I’m joining this one at the second level, Rebel, for now. That gives me a goal of 7-12 books.

For this challenge I’m planning on reading:

1) Divergent by Veronica Roth

9ad

Next we have the 2014 Fairy Tales Retold Reading Challenge hosted by Debz Bookshelf. I’m going for Devilish Wolf level, which is 4-6 books.

Some of the books I’m planning to read for this challenge are:

1) Mermaid by Carolyn Turgeon

2) Red Riding Hood

3) Winter Rose by Patricia A. McKillip

4) Solstice Wood by Patricia A. McKillip

5) Cinder

6) Scarlet

7) Cress

8) Of Beast & Beauty

9ad

Now the 2014 YA Mythology Challenge featuring YA & MG involving mythological elements.

Books I Plan To Read For This Challenge:

1) The House of Hades

2) The Dark Lady by Maria Dahvana Headley

3) Antigoddess by Kendare Blake

4) The Once & Future King

2014 Witches & Witchcraft Reading Challenge

Next up, the 2014 Witches & Witchcraft Reading Challenge hosted by Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf. My mom, who is a witch (like me!) insists I go for the Crone level, which is 16-20 Witchy books.

1) The Fiery Heart

2) Silver Shadows

3) The Once & Future King

9ad

Then we have the 2014 Series Challenge hosted by Read. Sleep. Repeat. I love series so I’m at least going for the silver badge, which is 4-6 series.

Series I’m hoping to tackle:

1) The Newsoul series by Jodi Meadows

2) The Divergent series

3) The Testing series

4) The Lunar Chronicles

5) The Matched series

6) The Mortal Instruments

7) The Infernal Devices

9ad

I’m also participating in the 2014 Series Enders Reading Challenge hosted by Somewhere Only We Know and Words Fueled By Love. I’m challenging myself to read at least five series-enders.

Series enders I intend to read:

1) Breaking Dawn

2) Infinite

3) Allegiant

4) Graduation Day

5) Reached

9ad

I’m also joining the Ethereal Reading Challenge hosted by Riedel Fascination. It’s a really neat challenge – fiction and non-fiction count, and its all about paranormal phenomena! I’m aiming for the “Healing” level of 21-30. The host wants to us to stick to more realistic paranormal phenomena, but since I tend to think most paranormal things have a basis in reality I’ll try to limit what I count for the challenge. She says she’s on the fence about reincarnation but I’m positive it’s real so I’ll be including it. And I get to count my Reiki textbook! 😀

Ethereal Reads I’m Aiming For:

1) My Reiki Textbook

2) The Diviners

3) Incarnate

4) Asunder

5) Infinite

6)  The Fiery Heart

7) Silver Shadows

8) The Once & Future King

9) Winter Rose by Patricia A. McKillip

10) Solstice Wood by Patricia A. McKillip

9ad

The Catch-Up Challenge 2014 hosted by Sarcasm & Lemons

I have TONS on catching up to do so I’m very excited for this one!

1) The Sea Inside by Vickie Johnstone

2) Steampunk Poe

3) Divergent by Veronica Roth

9ad

And last is the 2014 Everything YA Reading Challenge hosted by Books and Iced Coffee Book Blog.

1) The Sea Inside by Vickie Johnstone

2) White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

3) Divergent by Veronica Roth

9ad

Phew! I better get started! What do you guys think? Good challenges? Any I’m missing? Let me know!

About Rain Jeys

Young Adult Fantasy Author. Book Reviewer. Lover of kitties. View all posts by Rain Jeys

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Resolutions For 2014

Tell me what you think!

