2013 End of the Year Bookish Survey

This is a fun bookish survey created by The Perpetual Page Turner. I know I’m a bit late to the party, but I’m doing it anyway. 🙂

1. Best Book You Read In 2013? 

This series just keep getting better and better. It’s becoming ridiculous.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I guess since this was the fifth book in a series I was continually disappointed with, I shouldn’t have been surprised, but it kind of goes for the whole series. Really thought I’d love Wicked Lovely and I just…didn’t.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013? 

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I ended up loving this one.

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

I feel the need to tell most everyone I meet that Vampire Academy, despite its tragically unfortunate name, is an amazing series, as is it’s sequel series, Bloodlines.

 5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

I wouldn’t have discovered this one if it weren’t for the Percy Jackson books, but I like the Heroes of Olympus better.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Quite a few really, but I’ll say Rick Riordan.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I don’t really read contemporary (I just find fantasy and the paranormal much more interesting), but this book was stunning.

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

I had to force myself to stop reading a few times just to make it last longer.

 9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Soon as I get my hands on The Fiery Heart I’ll re-read this one for a refresher. And because it’s awesome.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

11. Most memorable character in 2013? 

Percy is so awesome and bad-ass and hilarious.

But then there’s Adrian who’s just…Adrian. I refuse to pick.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

Believe it or not, the writing is even more beautiful than the cover.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013? 

This book has made editing my manuscript so much less hellish. I highly recommend it.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read? 

I’m so glad my husband insisted I finally read this one.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

“Briefly, the nymphaeum glowed with a softer light, like a full moon. Piper smelled exotic spices and blooming roses. She heard distant music and happy voices talking and laughing. She guessed she was hearing hundreds of years of parties and celebrations that had been held at this shrine in ancient times, as if the memories had been freed along with the spirits.
‘What is that?’ Jason asked nervously.
Piper slipped her hand into his. ‘The ghosts are dancing.”

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

was the shortest

was the longest

 17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

 Arrrrgggh that ending!

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Definitely Sydney and Adrian, the friendship and the romance.

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Richelle Mead’s awesomeness just keeps increasing.

20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

Middle-grade fantasy, it seems. 🙂

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Well, I can’t put Adrian Ivashkov because I read Vampire Academy prior to 2013, but I think I’ve probably got a slight crush on Percy. I wouldn’t be the first.

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

Contemporary or no, I’ll likely eat up anything else this author releases.

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

The imagery was incredibly lush while also fast-paced and readable. It really drew me into the story.

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

This whole series was lots of fun to read.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

Definitely cried.

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

This was a self-publish that I wish more people read, because it was really fascinating.

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014?

I already have it, but I’m saving up to get Insurgent and Allegiant and then I’m going on a Divergent binge. 🙂

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)?

Since I’m already putting The Blood of Olympus as most anticipate series-ender. I definitely need more Adrian and Sydney.

3. 2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Yay! A book about a witch who’s a devotee of Hecate. This book looks amazing.

 4. Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating in 2014?

I don’t want it to be over but I still need to read it badly!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014?

Well, I have all of my challenges listed here, and aside from those I hope to just succeed as a blogger, to do it more regularly and maybe make some publishing contacts. Fingers crossed!

Thank you so much for reading! 

heart ribbon divider

About Rain Jeys

Young Adult Fantasy Author. Book Reviewer. Lover of kitties. View all posts by Rain Jeys

4 responses to “2013 End of the Year Bookish Survey

Tell me what you think!

