Quote-Tastic: Steampunk Poe

“Quote-Tastic” is a meme hosted every Monday by Herding Cats & Burning Soup, where participants share a favorite quote from a current read (or any read, really) and then link up.

This week’s quote is from my current read, Steampunk Poe
“And thus, as a closer and still closer intimacy admitted me more unreservedly into the recesses of his spirit, the more bitterly did I perceive the futility of all attempt at cheering a mind from which darkness, as if an inherent positive quality, poured forth upon all objects of the moral and physical universe in one unceasing radiation of gloom.”
– The Fall of The House of Usher
9ad
I love this line, but when I finished reading it I couldn’t help but laugh a little at just how Poe it is. My husband, sitting next to me reading Divergent, gave me a quizzical look so I read it out loud to him. His response:
“That is the most goth thing I have ever heard. No wonder all the goths are into Poe.”
I just thought that considering I read the line whilst at an appointment trying to apply for Medicaid benefits, it was the most appropriate description possible.
Bureaucracy is pretty much  one unceasing radiation of gloom.
bloodrose
P.S: do not read if blood makes you queasy
***
So I had this post all scheduled and ready to go for today, and then Saturday night I was viciously attacked by a penguin coffee mug and this happened:
Poe bleeding
I thought it was kind of appropriate. 🙂
About Rain Jeys

Young Adult Fantasy Author. Book Reviewer. Lover of kitties. View all posts by Rain Jeys

7 responses to “Quote-Tastic: Steampunk Poe

Tell me what you think!

