Of Fire & Roses by Danielle Belwater Guest Post + Giveaway!

Banner - Of Fire & Roses by Danielle Belwater

red rose divider

 of fire

red rose divider

68972-addtogoodreads

Title: Of Fire & Roses

Author: Danielle Belwater

Release date: February 15th, 2014

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

Tour: Irresistible Reads Book Tours

Book Description:

Nate West’s mother is dead, his dad a lost cause. Anger has become a way of life, until he meets and falls in love with Cora Ewell. But Cora has a secret, one that could kill them both.

Nate moves from the big city to a small, forest town with his father after his mother’s tragic death. Alone and angry, Nate feels even more isolated by his father’s inability to communicate and relate to his only son in the wake of their loss.

Nate takes to the forest in an attempt to find some peace, but instead finds a beautiful girl with flaming red hair. But before he can speak with her, she vanishes. Unsure if the girl is a vision or real he searches desperately for her.

When Nate finally meets Cora, his world is turned upside down and inside out.
Dreams of his own death plague his sleep as old dark magic, hidden for centuries, resurfaces and has its sights clearly set on Nate

e5a01-amazonicon

b&n

red rose divider

Guest Post

One thing I am asked on a regular basis is where do I come up with the ideas for stories. This is never an easy question to answer but I’ll try to do my best to explain my thought process when coming up with an idea for a novel or series.

I am going to take you through my thought process for coming up with my upcoming series “Let Her Go”, a ghost love story based in Japanese mythology.

I was listening to the song “Let Her Go” by Passenger. There was something about the song that I connected with. I heard the character’s heartbreak of only realising love when it’s too late. The lyrics, “only know you love her when you let her go.” sparked a tiny thread of a story.

What if you loved someone but had to let them go?  From there, I go into full brainstorming mode. While listening to the song over and over, and over some more, characters reveal themselves, plot lines come out. I love the paranormal and am always fascinated by ghosts. The idea struck me, what if you were in love with a ghost? How would you deal with that? How would it even work?

Being fascinated by Japanese mythology, one of my favourite myths is that of the yurei. Many Japanese believe that if a person dies tragically or under violent circumstances, their spirit returns and are kept from a peaceful afterlife until they are avenged.

I fell in love with a series of photographs taken by my brother in Japan, of the Cherry Blossom forest in full bloom.

This young girl looked to me as if she lived in the blossom. So I put the two together. The ghost of a young woman haunts the cherry blossom forest where she was violently murdered.

With any love story, you need a male hero, but I have quite a fond attachment to characters that are quite damaged. I wanted my main hero to have a history in Japanese mythology so he needed to have Japanese heritage and so Michio Hunter was born. His Japanese mother married an Australian man and moved to Australia but after the suicide of his girlfriend, goes to Japan to stay with relatives to help him recover.

Once I have my characters in mind, I look for stock images that I can use legally and start building character profiles and so Reika and Michio Hunter were born.

From there, I just start writing.

By the end of a completed manuscript the characters are as real as you and me and I know them better than I know myself. They are real people, reacting in their own way.

I just do the typing.

red rose divider

Danielle Belwater

About the Author:

 Danielle Belwater adores the concept of true love and truly believes everyone has their Prince Charming or Snow White out there somewhere, even if they have to fight demons, ghosts, and wizards to find it.

Danielle has been having a love affair with words since she was young and in primary school, writing some rather imaginative tales. This love has followed her into adulthood.

She lives in rural South Australia with her husband, young daughters and way too many animals to mention. She spends most of her time dreaming up characters, stories, ghostly tales, and watching Firefly re-runs. She also cooks the odd meal for her family to avoid them looking like skeletons at official author functions!

Danielle is passionate about reading and her interests include pretty much anything with words from rolling four volume epics to the daily newspaper.

Website ∗  Twitter

red rose divider

Now for the Giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 Fragile Song 2

Follow the tour!

Tour Schedule

 Irresistible Reads BT

About Rain Jeys

Young Adult Fantasy Author. Book Reviewer. Lover of kitties. View all posts by Rain Jeys

Tell me what you think!

