Grabby Paws: Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Grabby Paws

“Grabby Paws” is my version of the Waiting on Wednesday meme hosted by Breaking The Spine that highlights upcoming releases that I can’t wait to get my paws on. 🙂

Today I have grabby paws for…

add-to-goodreads-button3

John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern’s insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other’s lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

Why I have grabby paws…

I don’t talk about this much online, since it’s nice to have an escape, but not only do I have Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, I also have a spinal condition similar to cerebral palsy (I had a spinal cord injury ten years ago, so now I’m partially paralyzed below the waist). Thankfully I don’t need a voice-box, since my injury is below the waist, but even with a walker there’s no way I’d be strong enough to walk the halls of a high school. So I feel like this book was kind of written for me.

I’m a bit nervous to share all this. I don’t want anyone to think of me differently. But you, my lovely readers, would never do that, would you? You’re way too awesome for that. 🙂

Releases June 3rd

About Rain Jeys

Young Adult Fantasy Author. Book Reviewer. Lover of kitties. View all posts by Rain Jeys

10 responses to “Grabby Paws: Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Tell me what you think!